reaching the world through Missions, Writing and Life

Driving a Forklift with a Master’s Degree

That’s right. I have a Master’s and I’m driving a forklift. Well at my part-time job that supplements my missions gig. But I absolutely put the suc in success, as Joel put it, at driving a forklift. Can missionaries say suc (suck)? I nearly knocked a whole rack of pallets down today.

I’ve known this for a while, but my job in the warehouse painfully seems to confirm it daily. I am fairly far below average when it comes to mechanical intelligence. I was always picked 1st or second on the playground when my buds from the neighborhood scrounged up a football game. But if we were to have some sort of competition involving driving forklifts or mechanical dealings, I’m sure I would be picked last.

My job has not been great for my personal pride. But the Lord works in mysterious ways. Maybe that’s His plan. Maybe I needed to be knocked down a notch or two. I mean I lead teams of Doctors and professionals to India and oversee church plants and pastors.

Positives: Whatever His plan, He’s provided a good and flexible job for me with decent pay. And I’ve picked up a few things here or there that I wouldn’t have otherwise. I admire the guys’ skills at work. I work with some great guys that aren’t just looking after themselves. I have a great boss in Mark Green and well, I think its good that I’ve been humbled a bit.

The Lord works in mysterious ways.

One response

  1. Joel Reed

    I love you brother. I enjoy working with you every day. You add a humor and a different perspective to almost everything we do in the shop. And I wouldn’t pick you last…

    April 11, 2012 at 7:29 am

Leave a Reply

