reaching the world through Missions, Writing and Life

What do you do when God asks you to do something you don’t want to do?

Ok, sorry its been too long since I’ve last posted. Now for the question of the day:

The question of the day: What do you do when God asks you to do something that you don’t want to do? So I really would love for everyone to respond to this one if you have a little time. You can respond with questions or your own experiences, etc…

See the biblical book of Jonah for reference. Now really maybe the first question is: How do you know what God is asking you to do? I don’t want to give you a formula answer because there really isn’t. However, there are some boundaries, though minimum on when you know that its God speaking. The main boundary being that God primarily speaks through the Bible. So if there is any other way outside of the bible that you think God is speaking to you, then you need to check the scriptures to make sure that what your hearing is not contradictory to the scriptures. That’s why its so important to read and know the bible!

Now otherwise, God speaks through circumstances, prayer, other Christians and sometimes non-Christians, dreams and nature. But again if you have a dream about having an affair on your wife, you can’t claim that the dream is God’s confirmation for you to have an affair. We know that the Bible speaks explicitly about adultery and how God does not condone it. Hence, the bible is your number one source for God’s will in your life above all of the others.

Now back to our question what do you do when God asks you to do something you don’t want to do? Well, basically my life is a mixed bag. Sometimes I feel that I am very faithful in obeying his call. But sometimes I really just don’t trust Him and I think that my way is better. That’s a crazy thought, but I behave this way sooooo…. many times. It reminds me of the song by Mainstay called BECOME WHO YOU ARE. It says, “I keep on chasin the wrong things and comin up empty. This isn’t who I’m supposed to be.”

Share one of your experiences or your thoughts. What do you do when God asks you to do something and you don’t want to do it?

Scott

One response

  1. Ok, its really funny, but I put see the biblical book of Noah for reference. That’s pretty funny considering I have a Master’s of Theology and there is NO BOOK OF NOAH. LOL… I meant to say Jonah. You know, Jonah and the big fish NOT Noah and the ark (which is found in Genesis

    September 3, 2010 at 11:56 am

Leave a Reply

